Wattvision+Rainforest Eagle: Setup and Use

Wattvision is proud to say that we are partnered and compatible with Rainforest Eagle sensors. Set up is easy and quick! Here's how to configure your Eagle to upload to Wattvision:

There are two parts to configuring your Eagle.

Part 1: Configuration on Rainforest side

1. Connect your sensor to its power source and to an ethernet cable, then go to the local web address located on the bottom of the sensor.

2. Once connected, go to settings and select Wattvision from providers drop down.

3. Confirm your choice to connect to Wattvision server

3 Your data is now being sent to Wattvision servers


Part 2: Accessing the Data on the Wattvision website

1. Log in to your Wattvision account and go to Desktop

2. Click House/Site and enter information about the location that is to be monitored. 

3. After you add your House/Site, go to sensor settings and click on Rainforest Eagle from the drop down menu. Enter your cloud ID which can be found on the back of the Rainforest sensor

4. If all steps were followed correctly, then you should be able to access your Rainforest data on Wattvision.com

9 responses
THis doesn't work for the new Eagle 200. FYI.
This does NOT work for a regular Eagle either. I need a full URL since my Eagle gateway does NOT offer a choice of Wattvision AT ALL. I guess I can write it in (it seems), but it needs the URL and none of your materials mention it...
Again, this instructions are ***INCORRECT**. Specifically "2. Once connected, go to settings and select Wattvision from providers drop down." cannot be done since my Eagle does NOT offer such a choice.
you need to contact rainforest to update the firmware on your device to show the wattvision option.
This is the 1st thing I did, Rainforest updated the device to latest version and Wattvision is NOT there.
Looks like I'm about 3 years too late based on the date from the comments, but I stumbled upon my old Rainforest Eagle in a closet and I decided to set it up again. I ran into the same situation: the only cloud provider listed in my interface was Bidgely, which stopped serving individual customers years ago. WattVision seems to be the only supported option nowadays but the API URL is nowhere to be found. Based on the partial URL from the screenshots in this page I managed to dig up the full URL from the Q&A section on the Amazon product page: http://www.wattvision.com/api/third_party/rainf... I have to say it's absolutely insane that neither Rainforest nor WattVision provide this URL and literally the only result for this URL in Google is that Amazon product page that I mentioned.
Oh, and if you're thinking "I can't edit the URL in the interface", yes it's possible, it's just not the most user friendly interface. On the Cloud tab you just need to click the "+" at the bottom left (in the cloud logo) which essentially lets you add an entry to the provider list. You can put whatever you want as the provider name. Also, after it was configured it seemed stuck in the "Initializing" state (orange). I waited about 15 minutes and it was still showing that, so I plugged it off and on and it immediately turned green on reboot. Now I see data in WattVision, so as of September 2020 this is working fine.
2 visitors upvoted this post.